Application Process / Peace Corps

Invitation to Serve in Tanzania

As most of you know, I have officially accepted an invitation to become a Peace Corps trainee. I was invited to work as a Secondary Education Math Teacher in Tanzania (pending medical and legal clearances). As of now, as long as I medically/legally clear and can keep up with the very long list of PC tasks I have to complete, I will officially be leaving July 8th for three months of training in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania. From there, I will be assigned to a school and community in the country for 24 months of “real” service. I will not know where my 2-year assignment will be until I complete my training. Most likely I would return September 2019–I know now is not the time to mention the option of a one-year extension to my mom and dad.

I have decided to use this blog as a way for people to keep up with my journey over the next 2+ years. It will also be my way of staying connected to everyone here! I am so excited to share my experiences pre-service (the emotions, the paperwork process, the packing list, the traveling) as well as some of my experiences and pictures during service. Most of the pre-service posts will be directed at other possible Peace Corps volunteers because I know that reading other blogs was (and still is) incredibly helpful for me. There will be much, much more information coming. I am inevitably in for such an adventure, and I can’t wait to share it!

Leave a Reply

