Peace Corps / Staging and Departure / Training

My last few weeks here, staging, departure, and training.

My last couple weeks in the U.S have consisted/will consist of:

Getting a tattoo, taking my Fundamentals of Engineering exam, doing an INSANE amount of shopping, traveling to Colorado for Concrete Canoe Nationals, saying a lot of hard goodbyes, going to two amusement parks in two days, reading even more Peace Corps blogs, moving out of my apartment, buying 20 pairs of underwear and crossing my fingers that that’s enough, giving my sister an insane amount of hand-me-downs, doing some crying, and becoming SO SO EXCITED OMG I CAN’T WAIT.

Here is my staging/departure schedule:

July 8: Get dropped off in Washington D.C. in the evening (goodbyes, hugs etc.)

July 9: “Staging” (Still in D.C., a little bit of training, paperwork, meeting the rest of my training class, last minute shopping as I understand it)

July 10-11: Fly from D.C. to Ethiopia, from Ethiopia to Tanzania!

Then training begins.

Some info about training as far as I understand it:

This is where there are a lot of unknowns. I know that I will have training on language, culture, safety, teaching, security, etc. 6 days a week for about 3 months. During this time, I will live with a host family somewhere in or around Korogwe (as I understand it). Near the end of training, I will be given a permanent assignment for the next 2 years. That is where I will actually be ‘stationed’ for the duration of my service!

For everyone asking:

I have no idea where my final assignment will be. I don’t know if I’ll be the only volunteer in the area. I don’t know if I will have electricity, running water, or internet. I don’t know what the area will be like temperature-wise. I don’t know what age I will be teaching. I don’t know what type of school I will work at or what resources there will be. I don’t even know what subjects I will be teaching because there is a chance I could get something in addition to math. When you’re trying to picture where I will be..keep in mind Africa is a continent. Tanzania is a diverse country. Different locations will be completely different than other locations. I won’t know any of these things until they’re happening. All part of the adventure 🙂

In case you’re interested:

Here is the link to the PC Tanzania’s instagram. It looks like there is an incredible team of people waiting for us, and I can’t wait to meet and learn from them!!

Leave a Reply

